Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Formal education and its effects are often debated. Proponents of formal education believe it is the panacea for troubles around the world whereas critics believes it instills our minds with dogma and leaves us with narrow vision. It is not just the content of formal education but also the associated messages which make a difference. The effects of formal education depend on how it is delivered and the accompanying message.

When differential calculus was first invented in the Newton-Leibniz era, it was done with the intent of providing a stronger arsenal for mathematicians and scientists for further discoveries. It acted as a solid foundation for the development of concepts of modern physics like atomic models and quantum mechanics. Had it been developed with a limited view to prove certain concepts and restrictions on its use for further development, it would’ve restricted the minds and spirits of twentieth century physicists. However, it has been increasingly used in the development of ideas in various fields.

Another great example of this is when JJ Thomson’s son won the Nobel prize for providing a more elaborate atomic model which disproved parts of atomic model proposed by JJ Thomson himself for which he won the Nobel prize as well. He used the base provided by his father’s ideas to explore new territories. Such is the nature of liberating education.

On the contrary, in medieval Europe, early ideas about a universe with the Earth at its centre were taught religiously and people who questioned it were punished. This restricted the vision of multiple generations and slowed down innovation in the middle ages. It took a considerable amount of effort to bring in new ideas and challenge the existing beliefs. Galileo faced the church’s wrath whenever he tried to share his new ideas with the masses. This definitely restricted the minds and spirits of the people during those times and set scientific innovation in Europe back by a century or two.

In summary, educational practices which establish rigid ideas and fixed beliefs act as instructional guidelines intended for informing all individuals of the same set of existing ideas with very little room for innovation. On the other hand, practices which portray current education as a baseline to be used for further discovery or revolutionary ideas, provide minds with the arsenal and motivation for advancement.