Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The issue presents an all or nothing view which fails to take into consideration various factors which might influence the information that should be shared with the public. In some situations, it may be wise, and as mentioned in the view, even desirable to withhold information from the public whereas other situations may demand that the public stay fully informed. The complexity of the situation may even lead to a decision where information is shared partially and some information is withheld.

In cases concerning the security of a nation and protection against its enemies like hostile states and extremist groups, sharing information about the nation’s plans to defend and prevent expected attacks might be deleterious to the safety of the nation as the hostile agents might get hold of this information and adapt their strategy accordingly which can result in dire losses for the nation. Troops deployed at borders may face heavy loss of life and resources which would not be justified with the need for transparency in governance. This information can be shared after certain projects have completed and the information is no longer useful, but to share them while they are still active can be inimical. Similarly, sharing the exact location and itinerary of important diplomats may result in dangerous situations for them as extremist groups trying to attack or perhaps even assassinate these diplomats have access to their exact plans and can find multiple opportunities to attack them. This has been observed in the case of public appearances of assassinated presidents like Lincoln and Kennedy.

On the other hand, certain situations may demand the complete disclosure of information to the public since they are the ones being governed and paying taxes to run a nation. For many years, the Greek government withheld information about the horrific state of its economy from its citizens and continued to share false reports to avoid widespread panic. As a result of this, when their economy collapsed, the Greek people weren’t prepared to face the problems which came up due to the economic downfall and were flummoxed by the situation. Similarly, people worldwide were shocked by the economic crisis of 2008 as their governments hadn’t taken the initiative to inform citizens of a possible market fall due to the trends of inflated real estate bonds even though various activists had shared concerns. In such situations, it is necessary to completely disclose information to the public and keep them informed of the reality of the situation.

Additionally, certain situations may demand a partial disclosure of information. For example, the public may require the details of economic expenditure of diplomats on foreign travel for official reasons to understand the proportion of the national budget used for this purpose and evaluate the economic planning of the government. However, the exact details and location of these expenditures may not be required as they may provide information to extreme groups who can pose a potential threat to these leaders.

In summary, the extent to which information should be shared with the public by the political leaders depends on the intricacies of the situation and the nature of the information itself. To suggest that all information should either be shared or withheld is an extreme proposition and would tend to result in harmful consequences in a number of situations.