The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum presented tries to base its recommendation to increase Movies Galore’s profits on a series of observations and inferences made from them. However, many questions are left unanswered which would be required to properly evaluate the suggestion.

First, the owner suggests that decline in profits can be reversed by reducing operating costs at the chain’s ten rental stores. The original reason for decline in profits isn’t mentioned. Was it higher operating costs or some other reason? Perhaps people increasingly prefer going to the cinemas instead of renting movies or perhaps the usage of online streaming services has increased. Reducing the operating costs in such cases would do very little to help profit as business would continue to go down due to a change in people’s preferences. However, if the decline is in fact dependent on the rising operating costs, it would be wise to dig deeper in the sources of these recent increases and act on them.

Additionally, the owner mentions reducing the costs at ten of their stores. The details of the total number of stores, their sales trends and the reason for selecting only these ten stores are needed to determine if it is sensible to focus on only these stores. If in fact Movies Galore has more stores, the reason behind other stores being able to maintain their profits may be helpful in determining useful recommendations for other stores.

Second, the owner dismisses the idea of increasing rentals, as special bargains are Movies Galore’s key selling point. The reference point for Movies Galore’s prices attaining the status of a bargain is missing. A comparison of rental prices with competitors is required to determine if an increase in rent is viable while still offering better prices than others. It is possible that other stores may have driven up costs due to various reasons, providing Movies Galore room to increase their own prices. However, if there is no considerable change in the offers from competitors, increasing rents may do more damage than good for the chain.

Finally, the memorandum mentions changes in operating costs at a particular store in downtown Marston. The reduction was brought about by closing the store earlier than regular hours and removing movies released more than five years ago. While this would bring down operating costs, it says nothing about the change in profits. The reduction in hours may bring in fewer visitors, possibly those who visit the store after work for a late night rental, consequently resulting in lower profits. Similarly, reduction in the stock may drive away old movie aficionados who’d look for other places which rent them. On the other hand, these changes may be beneficial if the historical trends suggest that the majority of visitors come before the new closing hours and a considerable number of them go for movies no older than five years. The true effect on the profits of the store is needed to evaluate the benefits of this proposition.

In conclusion, various questions need to be answered to evaluate the recommendation and therefore, increase the profitability of Movies Galore. Depending on the true reasons behind the decline and the effect of proposed changes, it may or may not be beneficial to implement similar changes in the proposed set of stores.