The function of science is to reassure; the purpose of art is to upset. Therein lies the value of each.

The statement contends that the purpose of science is to provide reassurance and of the art is to upset the people. it is true that one of the function of science is to provide reassurance to people in various cases such as various phenomena taking place around the people and their understanding about it. also, many art forms are responsible for upseting the people and many of them have primary purpose of upsetting people. However, the author had provided a superficial view about the functions of both science and art.

Firstly, there are many important functions of science other than reassuring people. For example, in the field of medical science the primary purpose is the well being of human beings. various new medicines and drugs are developed to improve the health of people and for protecting them against various diseases. other example is various innovations carried out for improving the condition of people,i.e, the way they are living, how they can carry out their work more efficiently for example various innovations like computers, internet greatly reduces their time and help to carry out tasks more efficiently, etc. another example is science helps to improve the defence of a country. also, various innovations like internet,television, etc helps in spreading awareness about various issues to mass more efficiently and in less time.

also, as in the case of science the purpose of art is not only to upset the people. there are many more important functions of art. for example many art forms are used to spread awareness among people about existing system, the condition of society, about new technology and their usage. for example, many plays are conducted to spread awareness about advancement in new technology to a particular section of society. also, many art form are used to entertain people, amuse them and make them cheerful, For example,various plays carried out in front of public to relieve them from the burden of their regular lives and bring out refreshment in them. also, not only plays many paintings or artistic structure are used by people to keep the happy. such paintings and artistic structure can be found in the house of many peoples.

hence, in sum there are numerous examples of the usage of science and art which shows their broader usage. Thus the function of science and art is not limited to just reassurance and upsetting people.