The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

The best way to indicate a society greatness is an observation of people welfare. The artists, rulers, and scientists' achievements are important too, but general comfort is the most important way to measure a nation's greatness.

There is no point of making expensive movies and awarding artists when people are hungry. Imagine a poor country like India where people do not have jobs and money to make a good lives for themselves. On the other hand rich super stars wear their expensive clothes to go to Bollywood. This nation needs to put the people first to make a good environment for the country. Instead of spending money to make movies, the goverment can help poor and low-income families who barely have money to have normal meals.

Additionally, rulers usually sacrifise many things for their achievements which is not fair. Imagine a poor family who has been forced to send their sons to the army to fight against their enemy. There is no actual nation's achievement when many families loose their sons to defend the country. On the other hand, many families may loose their jobs and money during war which is not fair. Moreover, rulers can try other ways such as talking to solve dissagrements between countries. A war is not a good way for problems' solution because it costs a lot.

On the contrary, scientists' achievements are indication of a nation's welfare; however, the goal should be toward people's comfort. For example, all expensive researches to innovate Covid vaccine and to offer free vaccine to prevent people's death are indication of a nation greatness that can be a good improvement for any country.

Greatness definition can be different for everyone, but an actual improvement in any country depends on how a government make a society a comfortable environment for every one. There are many ways to measure a country's greatness such as scientists, artists, or rulers achievements. However, there is no actual happiness when general people are poor.