govermnment oficials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out will of the people they serve

Here author is concerned with judicial judgment in favor of public by government officials, which is entirely based on own view. And suggesting it should not be according to will of people they serve.

Here I will elaborate more by being concern to republic rule rather than for democratic because claim sound quite plausible to that rule. In any republic country leader is choose by people, to work for people for their betterment. But people on power is responsible to serve every one by being disinterested. So it is overt that no one can give any decision based on the contingent view.

Although it is equally true that people are selecting leader for solving their problems they are facing. If people of particular area facing problem regarding to affluence coming from near by industry , and they are putting plea for closing for particular company, but at same time government is having big benefits from company in term if taxes.

If such condition is not so sever and alternatives are available to mitigate effect of chemical, in such way that company can be benefit in terms of large term employment of that area, then government officials have to see wide view of problem instead of giving decision in favor of people they serve. There can be more events at international and national level In which wide view of problem is to be analyzed then decision is to be concluded. Some time some corrupted officers can give decision in their own favor or merely for purpose of vote to get elected in next session also but it is not reasonable. Decision must be based on general welfare of people containing large group.

In conclusion I would say that to give any decision is rather subjective matter then solving problem of few people and need some wide research.