Government funding for purely scientific endeavors, such as space exploration, should be reduced in order to direct more funding toward humanitarian science projects.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to consider specific instances for which this statement may or may not be true.

Aliens and UFOs used to be considered purely science fiction, but with the increasing knowledge that scientific community has been accumulating, the existence of other living creatures in the universe seem to be a plausible theory. I disagree that government funding for purely scientific endeavors should be reduced for more funding toward humanitarian science projects to the extent that purely scientific endeavors should still be maintained as they are an important part in the developing scientific society and may be a crucial source for alternative resources with the current state of global warming. However, although purely scientific endeavors such as space exploration are still important, a small reduction to provide more funding towards humanitarian science projects may allow more immediate benefits for the society.

The development of a society is not only characterized by the level of civilization but also by scientific explorations. The knowledge through scientific endeavors has brought our society forward by strengthening our knowledge of the universe. Humans used to believe that the Earth is flat, and that the Sun and the Moon rotate around the Earth. Through the advance of our knowledge in science and outer space, we learned that the Earth is indeed round and revolves around the Sun. Such knowledge are crucial for understanding many of the natural phenomenons that we experience and allows us to better prepare for and combat against natural disasters. Therefore, the implications of understanding the universe makes scientific exploration a crucial part of the 21st century development.

Moreover, the increasing concerns for global warming motivates scientists to seek resources or living environments elsewhere in the vast universe. The availability of natural resources on earth is limited, while the population of humans and other living species proliferates. The need to unearth alternative resources is eminent for human being’s survival in the future. Therefore, the claim to reduce funding for such projects lacks serious consideration of long-term consequences.

On the other hand, humanitarian projects have relatively larger potential to provide more immediate results that could benefit the society. Funding for causes such as cancer treatments and vaccinations have aided millions of people around the world. However, government reduction in the funding of alternative science projects for such humanitarian projects may provide beneficial only on a small scale. Too large of a reduction of funding from scientific endeavors would be deleterous. Since humanitarian projects provide more visible outcomes, it is more likely that they would obtain funding from NGOs and individuals. Therefore it is the government’s responsibility to balance the usage of tax payer’s money between funding purely scientific endeavors and humanitarian science projects.

In conclusion, funding for purely scientific endeavors is a long-term investment, while funding toward humanitarian science projects marks a rather short-term investment. Both projects are of vital importance to the development of our society, and thus I believe that the government should not cut funding from one project to fund the other, but rather aim to strike a balance between the two.