Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The responsibility of governance is best served when both the parties involve- the government and the people. Without the involvement of people, government might make poor choices due to lack of foresight. If government blindly obeys its people, then only the voice of majority will be heard, leaving minority groups oppressed and without support. Therefore, a mixed policy of government making decisions with the freedom given to people on reacting to it should be adopted. For instance, even though China is one the most powerful countries in the world, the happiness index among people is not very high since they are not allowed to express criticism against the government.

Many people argue on the basis that since government is elected by the people, it should blindly follow the needs and desires of majority. This would lead to increased prosperity among the majority group, and thus would ensure growth of country. Issues pertaining to larger groups would be readily solved, making majority of country happy, even if this comes at cost of discrimination against minority section.

Unfortunately, such an action would lead to killing of humanity. Such views are condemnable and should not be exercised at any cost since this could foment agitation amongst the minority group, which could result in violent protests leaving the country in tumult. For instance, India has adopted the policy of inclusion of all people regardless of their religion and has been successful in maintaining peace throughout its rich history. Also, people from minority groups have contributed immensely to the growth of India. For instance, Ratan Tata, belonging to minority group Parsis having population less than 1%, has provided employment to large section of society. It is evident that if government follows the will of majority blindly, it could have catastrophic results.

A government which assumes complete control over decision making process, giving no freedom to people cannot achieve its true purpose of serving people. Such governance precludes the government from having deliberations over their decisions leading to poor living conditions for the people. North Korea is one such country where opinions of people are immaterial, and final decisions are to be taken by monarch himself. The condition of living in North Korea is conspicuous to the entire world. People are not given any right to raise their voice, which has left majority of people living in poverty. People are used as dummies to satiate the selfish desires of those in government. As a result, majority of the people have expressed their wish to migrate to other democratic countries for better quality of living.

It is important to realize the true meaning of governance. It is not only to serve the people, but also make informed choice taking into account not only the larger section of society, but also moving along with the weaker sections. This type of governance necessitates the independent decision making power of government along with the power given to people to express themselves by means like protests. This would lead to holistic development of society which would be beneficial to society as a whole.