Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs.

The vice president attempted to make a comparative study between Alpha and Zeta construction company in terms of their construction cost, maintenance and electrical costs but failed to provide supporting information. The memo written by vice-president lacks cogency to persuade potential customer to choose Zeta over Alpha.

Firstly, the vice-president recollected an example which occurred a decade ago. Both the companies might have undergone drastic changes since then. It is possible that Alpha provides better services in maintenance and electrical aspects than Zeta in present scenario. It is also possible that Zeta might have lost contracts to Alpha because of the lower construction cost, making Zeta suffer huge loses. Thus, the vice-president should present current status of the companies and a comparison based on recent work for better judgement.

Secondly, the vice-president should provide maintenance cost over the last nine years for both buildings. It is possible that the building built by Alpha had lower maintenance cost over the last nine years and surpassed Zeta last year due to renovation in building. It is possible that building built by Alpha incurred larger maintenance expenses over the last year because of calamity like earthquake or tremors. Thus, the different condition of areas should also be included in comparison.

Thirdly, the vice-president should provide the number of units of electricity consumed in both buildings to obviate differences in electricity cost due to difference in per unit cost of electricity. It is possible that more machinery intensive work is being carried out in building built by Alpha as compared to Zeta resulting in more expenditure of electricity over the years.

From above arguments, it can be concluded that the comparison provided by vice-president is insufficient for choice of Zeta to prevail over Alpha. The current argument is rife and full of assumptions. More detailed analysis is required to find out relevant information to have a clearer option.