Government should offer college and university education free of charge to all students. Write a response in which you are agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is the key to develop and build a society, because it is a change agent which can make the son of a nobody to become somebody, and bridge the societal gaps established at birth. Therefore eductaion both at college and university level should be accessible to all, by creating a free tuition policy; However this policy is not universally applicable in all situations.

In Nigeria for example, during the nations glorious pre-independence and a little while after independence, when the economy was still boisterious and blooming, the then western governor by the name "Mr Obafemi Awolowo" initiated a free tuition policy on colleges and universities in western Nigeria. This initiative which was properly backed financially by the government boosted educational level in the western region and produced educated individuals that went on to build and develop the society, little wonder Lagos state Nigeria which is in the western region immediately became one of the largest commercial cities in West Africa. Also till date, Ekiti state in western Nigeria still holds the record of having the largest number of professors in Nigeria. However, the level and standard of education was not compromised during this initiative because it was properly and financially backed by the government whose economy was booming.

To the present day Nigeria, similar cry for tuition waiver was echoed by the state university and state college in Enugu State Nigeria around the year 2007, Under the governorship of Dr. Chimaroke Nnamani, his response to the echo was rather epic, in his words and i quote "Education is not cheap and it is for the rich, if one thinks education is too expensive, then the person should try ignorance". This was in line with the current economic situation of the state and the country at large, the state could not finance the tuition free policy any longer. For Education to be free, it must be financially backed by the government, So that the standard of Education will not reduce. Hence if the government is not boisterious enough to financially back the tuition free policy. Then the students in order to get quality education, must raise funds through payment of tuition fees. One way or another, Educational institutions need to be funded.

Most developing countries make reference to tuition free countries like Germany when making their point of argument for an Educational free system, However these people often side step the fact that the German government provide the needed fund to maintain the standard of eductaion in the country.

In conclusion, while a society clamours for free education in colleges and universities, it is imperative to ascertain if the free education policy can be achieved without compromosing the standard/level of education. If the government cannot fund it, then it should not be free and vice versa.