“Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national

security.”

The civil laws are made by the government to protect the people of the nation from wrongdoing. Once set into motion these laws are supposed to apply to every citizen of the country which includes the government and they should not be allowed to circumvent the laws even if it is for the betterment of the nation, if they do, it gives them the ultimate power to the point that they could control the lives of the people residing In the nation.

Throughout the history of the nations, we have encountered several instances where government has circumvented the civil laws, this in return has ended up hurting the citizens of the nation rather than protecting them. Whether it be the conflict between India and Pakistan regarding the land in Kashmir or the conflict between US and Iraq, what governments think might be good for the country and its people has made a negative impact on their lives up to a point where normal residents have lost their home and lives because the government tried to circumvent the laws. By doing these neither party is winning and it is a big loss for the nations.

If government is allowed to circumvent the laws, the government can end up breaking the law for their personal motives, a corrupt politician can use his power to break the laws for his own benefits and get away with it. Moreover, a government becomes vulnerable to criticism and loss of trust from the public if allowed to get over certain laws. This should not be allowed in any nation which wants to protect their country.

Sometimes, circumventing the law is the only answer for security, when it comes to terrorism breaking laws to take down those who harm the country is a valid excuse. If implemented correctly, circumventing the laws can be beneficial for the security of the nation however, wrong use of that may also cause into police brutality, racial profiling and violence just because government has power. The government and people of government should not be immune to this type of behavior.

In conclusion, no government should be allowed to go against the law. There are rules and there are other democratic ways to help nation with the security. It is essential for any government to follow the rules which are placed. Following them in a proper manner is also vital to protect the national security.