The following is from a recent email from the Diord Corp. Human Resources Manager: “Tobor Technologies

found that mental health problems and mental illness were responsible for about 15 percent of employee sick

days. Tobor amended its employee insurance plan so that workers receive the same coverage for mental illness

as they do for physical illness. In addition, the company hired an on-site psychologist and created a system

that allows workers to schedule confidential counseling appointments. After one year, the number of sick days

used by employees declined by 10 percent. Diord Corp. has had an increase in employee sick days over the

past two years, so we should introduce a similar insurance plan and counseling program. These measures will

surely reduce employee absenteeism and cause an increase in productivity.”

The recent email from the HR manager of the company is flawed and full of unstated assumptions for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based off unwarranted assumption that the company Diord Corp is same as Tobor Technologies, rendering its conclusion that introducing a similar insurance plan and counseling program will reduce the sick leaves and increase productivity.

Secondly, the argument fails to provide any justification that both the companies are similar. The work environment in Tobor Technologies can be much more depressing and less initiative for the employees working over there. The Diord Corp could be a place where there is a lot of teamwork and employees might be much more engaging or it can be located into a completely different city. The argument would have been stronger if it would have mentioned the work environment of both of the companies. Even then, the argument would have failed to provide sufficient details of each employee and their reason for leave.

The argument also assumes that the reduction of the leaves after a year were due to the introduction of the insurance and counselling. The employees could have fallen sick less amount of times during that year or the employees might also have left the company in the span of a year. Even if the reduction was due the implementation, the argument fails to provide the data of the reduction of number of leaves same employees compared to a year ago.

Finally, the argument claims that implementing the same policy can reduce the absenteeism and increase productivity without any warrant. The decrease in productivity could be because of the work setting and the amount of work that is allocated to employee. The argument also assumes that the increase in absence is due to mental health, maybe the employees were actually getting sicker in past 2 years. If there were data given which explicitly mentions the reason of leave, the argument would have been strong, still it would fail to warrant that implement the same plan would reduce the absence.

In conclusion, since the argument makes several unwarranted assumption and lack the data, it fails to convince that implementing the same insurance plan will increase the productivity and absenteeism of employees of Diord Corp.