"Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national security."

With the political climate today, it is of the utmost importance that we do what we can to keep our country safe through political, economic, and social changes. But how can we go in the name of safety? Can we send military through citizens’ houses on any sneaking suspicion they may be a traitor? Can we assign all power to one or a few individuals who supposedly have the country’s best intentions at heart? Or how about ____? The statement asks if it would be justifiable for governments to circumvent civil laws if it is done only out of necessity for our national security. I believe in certain cases, it may be reasonable for a government to circumvent civil law, however, there must be a formal structure in its place for the new state of transitional government in the name of national security. We cannot leave any room for ambiguity for ambiguity carves a window for power-hungry leaders to rise and take advantage amidst the confusion.

History is meaningful to us because it also simultaneously holds answers for the future. And history has shown us that when the government takes complete control during “wartime” environments, it has the great potential to turn into a dictatorial reign. The most obvious and tragic example would be the rise of Hitler. Hitler used the public’s own fear for his own gain. He understood that the people needed trust and faith and used those very tools as stepping stools for his exponential rise to power. This was augmented by an overwhelming sense of national pride that was accumulating in Germany and many other countries around the world at this time. Once in power, Hitler used the excuse of national security to begin his dictatorship. And thus began the most tragic (REPLACE), lugubrious genocide in our history, The Holocaust. Hitler’s example shows us that humans, and political leaders in general must be kept in check. Some leaders look for opportunities like the ones the prompt mentions to grasp at any power they can.

It is facile for governments to declare the actions they take are for the protection of national security. Most people do not understand intricate politics or economics to poke out any holes in the government’s argument. More importantly, during a national security threat, no one particularly even cares to. This is the fundamental reason why we cannot let the government act on its own, unchecked. The government (atleast of the US) was created for the people and by the people. If they act without the consultation of the people or transparency that was promised to the people, then the power of a few could grow.

I am not pushing for the government to follow all civil laws to the last word during a state of national emergency, I am simply calling for a set of patent, detailed laws that will take the place of civil laws during a national threat. These laws should be vetted through a rigorous process by several different viewpoints to guarantee that there will always be a check in power and the personal freedoms of everyone is preserved. It is clear that if the role of government during a dangerous time is undefined, that there will always be chances for power to fall into the wrong hands.