The following is from a recent email from the Diord Corp. Human Resources Manager: “Tobor Technologies found that mental health problems and mental illness were responsible for about 15 percent of employee sick days. Tobor amended its employee insurance plan so that workers receive the same coverage for mental illness as they do for physical illness. In addition, the company hired an on-site psychologist and created a system that allows workers to schedule confidential counseling appointments. After one year, the number of sick days used by employees declined by 10 percent. Diord Corp. has had an increase in employee sick days over the past two years, so we should introduce a similar insurance plan and counseling program. These measures will surely reduce employee absenteeism and cause an increase in productivity.”

The author describes Diord Corp. which is a company that, after incorporating mental illness into their employees’ insurance plans and hiring an on-site psychologist, observed a decrease in the number of sick days that the employees take. The author urges Tobor Technologies to follow a similar route to reach their end-goals of reducing employee absenteeism and increasing employee productivity. The author, however, does not take into account a large number of factors that prove that this decision would be premature unless studied into further.

Primarily, and most importantly, we do not know anything about both companies. They could be in differing industries, locations, have different sizes, insurance plans, benefits, the complete list would probably reach some hypothetical word limit of this response. How can we completely make a decision for a different company without understanding how the current company compares to the previous one? For example, the finance and gaming industries are known to have long working hours and a poor work-life balance. If Diord Corp. was a compmany in the finance sector, then perhaps letting its employees have easier access to mental health care and specialists really did impact their absenteeism. However, on the other hand, if Tobor Technologies were located in a part of the world where for example a tropical disease was present for the past two years, then including the same benefits would have little to no use. It would be far more beneficial if Tobor Technologies were able to analyze their own location and market to come up with a solution.

For the sake of the argument, let us say that the companies are similar enough in industry and location to be somewhat compared. Then, we have to carefully consider the methods implemented by Diord Corp. to find the results of their experiment. They need to have been using a proper statistically-sound experiment that appropriately represents the entire company’s workers and employees. We have no insight into how this information was gathered and perhaps they only surveyed one department, or asked leading questions in the survey that forced the employees to lie and say their sick days were not due to mental health, given the stigma around mental health in some parts of the world even today. Without knowing more regarding how they got to the results, it is not prudent to implement any changes in Tobor Technologies based on the findings of Diord Corp. And does the timespan of the experiment play a significant role? Take for example, the world pandemic we are in right now. Perhaps the time the experiment was done, there had been a disease or pandemic that caused more people to take sick days, unrelated to mental health. And after one year, the drop in sick days is due to the reduction of the disease not a reduction in mental health.

Again, for the sake of the argument, we can say that Diord Corp. went about the experiment in a way that allows the experiment to be equally as useful for Tobor Technologies. This does not change the fact that Tobor Technologies’s main goal will not have been met. They would like to implement the same measures to “… reduce employee absenteeism and cause an increase in productivity”. Diord Corp. never reports or speaks on employee productivity as a result of their actions. It could very well be the case that with the extra attention and company focus on mental health, employees are more uncomfortable to speak on the cause for their sick days. In this way, employees may be physically present in the workplace, but perhaps are even less productive. This is the exact opposite of Tobor Technologies’s goals.

In conclusion, there is simply not enough research that has been put behind Diord Corp, the experiment or results of the experiment, and the affects that the experiment has had on the workers. Tobor Technologies should not use these results as a justification for their own company decisions.