Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Initially, king of the regime was responsible for the growth and urbanisation of the country. Urbanisation is diverse it includes many things starting education universities, banks, hospitals and markets. However, in this present world government plays the same pivotal role. I agree with the author's argument that governments need to provide sufficient funds for development of cities. But after some point, the growth of the city reaches an apex in order to modernize it further we need humungous amount of funds. That could be utilized to urbanize numerous rural areas.

To begin with, the government is an authoritative force, which has the power to decide fund segregation. Funds is the money that people pay in the form of tax. What sum should be given to the following city and sector. Each year country has its own budget, then it officially announces the amount provided for a particular sector.

Secondly, cities contribute the major share of the amount recieved by the government. Since cities has all the facilities needed for a invidual to have a healthy and prosperous life like universities and hospitals, they have a convinient transport system. Urbans are immensly populated in comparision with rural areas. For instance, in India the population is 2 billion and 70% of the people stay in cities, others in rural areas. Especially in bombay the population density is 200 times that of a average rural area.

Additionally, a country's development is totally dependent on the major cities. Since the industries and companies have serious impact on the GDP, most of companies are present in cities.

Lastly, after some time major cities reach the apex of development after which the further development demands high price. In that given price numerous small towns can be converted in urbanised colonies. Since, the countries overall development depends on the complete nations development.

To sum up, I accordance with the writer that cities must need a finical support to grow. Which can be provided by the government. It is necessary of authorities to provide sufficient funds since cities has the major contribution to the nation's tax.