People should not be misled by the advertising competition between Coldex and Cold-Away, both popular over-the-counter cold medications that anyone can purchase without a doctor's prescription. Each brand is accusing the other of causing some well-known, unwanted side effect: Coldex is known to contribute to existing high blood pressure and Cold-Away is known to cause drowsiness. But the choice should be clear for most health-conscious people: Cold-Away has been on the market for much longer and is used by more hospitals than is Coldex. Clearly, Cold-Away is more effective

The conclusion might appear logical and convincing at first glance. However, a more critical analysis of the justification supplied by the author that choice should be clear for most health-conscious people since cold - away has been on the market for a longer period. Moreover, its been advised by more hospitals compare to coldex. The premises in their current form are not cogent - the reinforcements of the argument are fragile and they are rife with fallacies. To rigorously evaluate, the must provide additional evidence. Therefore, ideas cited in premises lead to assumptions that are feeble and susceptible to attack.

To begin with, the author's conclusion that cold - away is more effective is not efficient, according to the author cold-away is a well-established company and has been in the market for a long time. So, the new company to accuse an old company. It must have some substantial proof nonetheless, it would be fined harshly by authorities if the claims are fallacies. Authors ruling out these claim with deep scrutinizing is not rational.

Secondly, there is no compulsion that if a tablet has been on the market for many years is better in comparison. However, it is proved in all fields that advancements happen and new technology replaces the other. For instance, Aspirin was used for viral fever, for a long time and people believed it was the best medicine with few side effects. While on the usage of the tablet for a prolonged time revealed that it affects kidneys. Later, it was replaced by paracetamol. It has few side effects and can be used for a longer period.

Thirdly, the premise that the tablet has been used by more hospitals has unwarranted assumptions. Since the hospitals these days have become commercial especially private hospitals. They think it as a service not a service for humanity. The same type of tablets are manufactured by different companies, so they prefer those tablets that provide huge profits to their hospital. Moreover, being an old company it would have more grip over the market if the profit percentage is the same.

Lastly, it must be noted that and not taking legal action against the coldex, it is accusing cold-away that it causes drowsiness. Moreover, severe action must be taken against both the companies since they have a social responsibility and taking it too casually and blaming each other. The company must provide a tablet with minimum side effects and all the possible side effects must be mentioned along with it.

Hence, the author's argument is based on unconfirmed premises and unsubstantiated assumptions. It could have been more convincing and cogent. Hence, the author provides scant evidence in support of the conclusion made by him, thereby rendering the argument indefensible.