Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive because it is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The author asserts that the government must provide financial support to the major cities to thrive as these are the very areas where a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved. The culture of a country is essential in generating harmony among the different section of the society and keeping them in cohesion. however, I differ with the author’s opinion because of the following reasons:

Firstly, there are villages, town and small areas where national culture is preserved. big cities, now a day, are very cosmopolitan in nature and customs and traditions of the nation are less frequently observed in such area. One such typical example is the city of Mumbai in india, whose cultures are sharply different from rest of india. Social life in this city more resembles to the other major cities of the world—such as London, New York, and Paris—than that of other parts of india.

Also, big cities have several ways to generate money, and they do not need any external help. they have big factories, financial institutions that lend money to the needy, banks, stock exchange, and other related offices, which are considered the significant sources of wealth generation. In contrast, villages have limited sources of wealth generation like agriculture, handicrafts, and small factories. they contribute to the majority of the economy of the villages. In developing countries like india, villages almost wholly dependent on agriculture, which in turn depends on rain for most of the country. The failure of rain causes the failure of crops and villages to suffer due to lack of money to continue doing agriculture. At this pernicious time, they need government support to sustain the people of villages and their means of livelihood. villages do not have ample access to healthcare, education, etc. as well.

Secondly, I believe that government has limited resources, therefore, should focus on other core issues such as health, education, employment and financial well-being of the people and should leave the matter of cultural preservation to the civil society and masses. people are themselves interested in keeping their traditions alive once they are free of financial concerns—meaning that they can find time to participate in cultural events and observe traditions. Conversely, if they are extremely busy, they might not be able to participate in any cultural event, defeating the purpose of the government’s funding.

Another reason for the claim falls apart when we look at the history of any place in this world. any civilization be it Maya, Indus Valley or Chinese, everything started with villages and not cities. cities came a lot later in the history of civilization. when people began dwelling and living together, they began to build up communities, and for livelihood, they started doing diverse works, enjoyed celebrations, mourn burials. this marked the beginning of traditions, customs being made. Some of the age-old customs can still be seen in villages like special kind of dance when crops are ready. however, ancient traditions are things of yore for big cities as they are only a place to earn money and become wealthy.

In conclusion, I believe that culture and tradition are most essential features of the society—as well as the nation when it comes to maintaining tolerance and harmony; however, these are highly dependent on the prosperity of the people. The government, therefore, should address the core issues without the discrimination of whether it is a city, town or a village, and let the people flourish their culture by themselves.