Governments officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I believe that wise official governors could carry out the policy dependent on his judgement, but in general cases, they should listen to public before taking any decision. They should take public opinion into consideration, but not to blindly follow the will of the people they serve.

If a president is judicious, then we could trust him or her. Because his or her decision is more insightful and perspective than ordinary people. For instance, Taiwan previous president Hsiang Ching-Kao, had achieved many construction effectively by his judgement. In his term, he had complete the first high-way in Taiwan, even that's a tough decision at a time for the sake of insufficient finance. Eventually, the high-way facilitated the economy growth of Taiwan and accordingly started economy booming.

In contrast, it could be impolitic, the governor carries out his policy without listening to it's people. For example, ten years ago, the education president of Taiwan government had widely established the colleges and universities, while some scholars opposed the decision by the declined birth rate expected in the following decades. Today, the number of students is only half of it was a decade ago, but the the number of colleges grow more than fifty percent. And this leads to many problems, such as some schools couldn't find students to sustain their finance and the degraded college degree, because the admission rate of college application becomes more than ninety percent. Therefore, at least in this case, the government should listen to the sound from public, not act arbitrary.

Unquestioningly carrying out the will of the society would cause a lot of problem and make inappropriate decision. For instance, the public vote in Taiwan has a question which says, do you agree with the policy abandoning nuclear electricity generator? This question is not helpful at all, because they could support abandoning it without adequate consideration of it's side effect, like increasing electricity fee by twice. If the government just take it and execute it, then it would be detriment to the economic growth of the nation. As a result, the government should not carry out the will of the society discretionary. Instead, they could take it into consideration and assess it by experts in that field.

In conclusion, the government is suggested to execute it's policy if it is smart. Else, it should listen to public and evaluate the side effect, but not just follow it blindly.