Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Arts is a form of expression that must be supported by the government.But investing in arts as much as military may seem important at first but not a practical idea.

Firstly, the military improves a country's ability to defend itself from various external sources such as terrorism,defending the borders etc. The ability of the people to work and handle daily situations comes from the fact that they are safe and can concentrate on their work. For instance, in India, the country is surrounded by various boundaries shared with China, Nepal,Pakistan etc., and these borders are also very active in nature, that is there is terrorist activity and other countries trying to invade certain portion of the land surrounding that border. The population living in these regions are concerned about their safety,which is being safe guarded by the military.

Secondly,the military is a very important part of a nation's strength and representation towards the world.Every country wants to be friendly with the countries that are strongly built and have a good military strength taking into account that if any tension between countries shall appear. The United states of America for example , is friendly with almost every country in the world.Every country whether their ideologies match or if they are a far away country try to maintain friendly relationships through trade and various pacts which is mainly due to the military and economical strength of USA.

However, arts should also be given a certain amount of importance in investment because arts promote the culture of the country which in turn creates a certain level of tourist inflow towards the country.Arts can also be sold in the form of dance and music shows, arts and paintings auctions etc., boosting the economic status of the country.

As investing in arts seems to be a very important idea, the practical aspect of the safety of the country limits its practicality.The military allow the population of the country to stay safe and also help in creating a representation in the global front.The investment on arts can be as much as military if the government in question have reached a saturation point in their military's ability.