Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

The argument provided by the author does not have any substantial claims, that the loss of viewership is due to the weather and local news. I believe that the conclusion of the author is based on various weak premises.

Firstly, the author mentions that the complaints were received for one year concerning the weather and local news, the author fails to mention how much of the complaints were focusing on the weather and local news. The author must take number of complaints into account as well as the intensity of the complaints in order to decide whether the viewership has reduced due to the weather and local news.

Secondly, it is mentioned that the television has reduced the weather and local news time for one year. The author has however failed to take into account if any other new channels or new programs have attracted the viewers to their channel.The author has to consider the various other competing channels and also the programs that they have introduced during this timeblock of late night new program which could have allowed the viewership to migrate to that channel.

Thirdly, the author says that local advertisers have cancelled their contracts during the late night new program , which does not mention the economic status of the local businesses. The local businesses may not have had economic success during this period and therefore might have pulled out of advertising as a whole.The author needs to discuss the advertiser's economic status in order to get a clearer picture of the situation before conclusion.

Finally, the excerpt mentions that in order to attract more vewiers to the program that the time devoted to weather and local news must be restored. This premise is a very weak as it is nowhere proven that restoring the the time devoted to weather and local news may increase the viewership of the program.For the worst, it may as well reduce the viewership of the program.

To conclude, the business manager of the television station has mentioned various facts and premises which are not strong to come to a conclusion. The business manager needs to consider various other strong and significant points that were mentioned above which put in the doubts the conclusion.