Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Universities are the temples of higher education. They have been established in a country so that the students can gain specific knowledge about a career field that they wish to pursue. The above prompt suggests that governments should offer free university education to a student who has been admitted to a university but cannot afford the tuition fees. I disagree with this statement since there are a few repercussions to such an approach and the same will explained in detail in the paragraphs below.

Firstly, in a world filled with false data and statistics. It becomes difficult to unearth the true identity of a person and whether they are telling the truth about their financial status. Quite often have we seen individuals getting into malpractices to shroud tons of money from the income tax department. This could be a similar case when it comes to granting free education to a student who does not have the requsite money to pay for the tuition fees. Students can provide wrong data regarding the financial status of their family inorder to procure free education at a premium university. Thereby, prohibiting a deserving student of admission. The government instead of giving out free education, can help students with financial restraints to get a studet-loan at a low interset rate which they can pay-back once they start working as a full-time employee.

Secondly, a country can be home to several universities. Universities may be ranked according to the way they perform. But at the end of the day, they do impart valuble knowledge. If a student cannot afford the tuition of a university. He or she can always look out for other possible options. Google claims that fourteen percent of its employees do not even have a university degree. Yet, they work in one of the most prestigious companies of the world. It is not necessary for a student to get into a certain university just because it is the top ranked university of a country. With the advent of fierce competition, it is implied that a few students can miss out on a good university, due to any possible reason. But that does not mean that it is the end of the road. Gaining knowledge is important, it is not vital as to where you gain it from.

Moreover, the universities that charge a large amount of money as tuition, do so because they also maintain those standards, rules and ethics. A top ranked or a good university will have state of the art laboratories, class rooms and faculties. If these universities start giving out free education, it seems difficult whether they can continue to maintain such high standards. It would then be the responibility of the government to pay the tuition of students who cannot afford paying such exorbitant money. And it is really hard to predict whether the government be able to sustain paying out the tuition of so many students in the long-run.

In sum, I am against the idea that governments should offer free university education to a student who has been admitted to a university but cannot afford the tuition fees. Such a program will have its own problems that government will have to deal with it. And if this scheme is not properly implemented and kept in check, it can be exploited by miscreants and the rich to their advantage.