Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Beyond doubt, the statement : "Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development" is highly contentious in nature. Some may agree with the statement while others cannot stand it at all. As the prime motive of the scientific research and development is to serve the mankind thus accordingly it should also maintain a dignity and discipline not to disturb the environment. In my perspective, I am in consonant with the view that there must be adequate restrictions on the research and development works for the following three reasons.

Firstly, some people may argue that the research methodology works on the fact that they are to be given a free arena and top-notch freedom otherwise the outcome of the research would be tainted. For instance, in case of medical field, the research for finding the cure of any disease should be free from any boundaries otherwise the most efficient formula for the cure would be far from more than achievable. If the scientists are bound to follow the rules that the other animals parts are not to be used for the cure of human diseases, then most of the extreme diseases would not have viable solution to them.

However, the scientific research and development should be done only in certain limits and their course of actions should be circumscribed. For example, in the sensitive fields like gene recombination, there must be different rules and regulations which would prevent the undesired happenings such to create damage to ecosystem of the nature. The ecosystem of nature is so fragile and thus introduction of different mutant species would lead top its disruption and further lead to the different disease and famine. For example the making of a new microorganism by accumulation a qualities of two bacteria would lead to a fertilizer resistant microbe thus destroying the crops.

Furthermore, in case of the technology field, the earlier discoveries have shown the signs of decrease in human jobs as they are taken over by the machines and robots. The social structure has been mismanaged by the extreme employment of the technology in all fields. The human jobs have been taken over by the computers and machines, robots. So there is no doubt that the recent pace of development in technology would create unemployment among the people and unhealthy competition between countries in power scenario.

Thus to conclude, due to the above competition mentioned reasons like maintain the integrity and harmony among people, and create a balance in ecosystem there is a strong need to have strict rules regulations and restrictions in research