Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Beyond doubt , the statement given as the prompt is highly contentious in nature. Some may agree that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study whereas others cannot stand it at all and believe that college students should base their choices of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field. Personally , I agree at a greater extent that college entrants should choose their field of study on the basis of their talents and interests for the following reasons.

Some may argue that college students should select the field of study on the basis of the availability of jobs in that field as there would be more chances to be settled and contribute to the country. For instance, in case of students of North Korea, the best and in demand field of job is in defense sector. The dictator has got all of his consciousness leading to the development of warfare technologies and defense mechanisms in case of attack. So, anyone there studying arts or liberal science would be futile to government and thus would stuck there career in quagmire.So it is required of them to choose their field as per the availability of that field's job.

However, I believe that students should study the field which interests them because in this case the inner force motivates them to excel better in that field. For instance: APJ Abdul kalam, the missile man of India, had a vivid interest in the field of rocket science and thus he pursued the same and whole of the world can see what he has achieved in his respective field. Inspite of many difficulties and failures, he conducted many experiments and projects for the betterment of the future of Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO ) and lead it to one of the best in South asian sub-continent.

Moreover, the job market is ever-changing market where a hot job of one decade may be the least important in other. For instance, in 1970s and 1980s the nuclear field was burgeoning at a great pace and graduates were placed with high salary but after some mishaps and disasters in nuclear energy field its popularity started to wane an thus people shifted to more cleaner and renewable energy sources. Similarly, the high demand computer jobs in the present scenario may be taken over by Artificial Intelligence i the near future and thus the graduates would have scarce job opportunity. So as the job market is ever changing so the students cannot guarantee their career as per the present market as it is so volatile.

Thus, In conclusion if they had chosen their own interest of field they would always find their way to excel in that field and also find personal satisfaction.