Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Science has served the humanity very well so far and have proved its worth for the betterment of the society. Science has solved many problems that humanity has been facing since advent of humankind. Apart from helping the humanity to thrive it has helped to unravel many mysteries of the cosmic world which have always been intriguing to men. Science has helped us to understand our own body in a great deal. Various scientific discoveries from radioactive material to various drugs that have been developed have helped humans to understand the world better. Despite all these novel discoveries science has given tools that if not used in desired way would prove lethal for the humanity. These lethal tools are atomic weapons and various other weapons that have been developed by countries such as weapons of mass destructions.

So I would like to state that Government should allow scientific research that is conducive or for the betterment of the society and humanity at large and should regulate discoveries that can harm the societies or disrupt the way people live as these discoveries prove to be detrimental for the livelihoods of many people. To support my point of view I would like to give two reasons.

Firstly, Scientific discoveries have served the humanity and enriched the experience about life but there have been many discoveries by scientific community which if not used prudently may prove detrimental for the humanity. For instance, during second world war Japan was bombarded with Nuclear weapon by the USA. This bombing killed many people in those two cities and paralyzed thousands of people. Many Generation has gone through the ordeal. The Discovery of nuclear fission or fusion is remarkable milestone in the history of mankind but such discoveries have the potential to wipe out the humanity from the planet. So such discoveries that have the potential to wipe out the humanity or prove detrimental to the humanity should be regulated by the the Government.

Secondly, We as humans have covered a long journey and during thisjourney have made many scitific discoveries that have helped humanity to survive. There was a time in history when a simple fever may have taken toll on the life of a person but due to scientific discoveries and developments in medical sciences have made it possible to save people from deadliest diseases. So these discoveries proved sanguine for the humanity but there are various discoveries that have the magnitude to wipe out people from this planet if such discoveries be allowed to be used freely and be given to irresponsible hand may prove deadly for the people. So, These kind of scientific developments be regulated and be used responsibly for the welfare of the masses.

With this, I would like to conclude that Governements should put necessary conditions on scientific discoveries that have the potential to harm the humanity.