Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement suggests to relax the restrictions placed on research and development field which I would like to disagree with as I consider it to be same as any other field and should be placed with the same restrictions and rules as others. Each field have their own significance and no field is less compared to others.

Rules and restrictions are placed for certain reasons such that no individual misuses his powers and have an upper hand over others. History is the best example we could use for to stress upon this fact. During the second-world war times the race to build a biological weapon between the Russians and the Germans intensified and what did the race lead to? Unrestricted access to scientist and what did that in turn lead to? Inhuman torture and medical experimentation on war prisoners. The horror stories of those who survived after being a lab rat are chilling to hear even now. The effects of those inhuman and dangerous tests run by uncontrolled, rage driven scientists not only had it’s toll on the victims but also on the nurses, technicians and also on the very own scientists in some cases. When we consider our own history relaxing the restrictions on science and research field have only caused more destruction rather than development.

This case not only applies to one field but to all fields. Consider sports for example, the famous steroid abuse scandal of the 1980s in the American football field. Those were the times when the athletes were merely tested for any kind of drug use and were allowed to compete without any significant restrictions. A survey held later in the 2000s revealed a shocking fact that 95% of the athletes who used drugs during their football career had either passed away due to brain related diseases or were suffering from them. One may argue that these diseases might have occurred due to other reasons too but medical studies suggests the opposite. The use of performance enhancement drugs in major quantities are the major causes for these diseases.

Thus considering the past behavior of humans, whenever there were less restrictions laid upon us we didn’t do much productive things rather than harm our fellow beings. Hence I consider science and research field also not to be an exception and shall be o followed with the same kind of restrictions and rules to ensure we don’t repeat the mistakes of our past.