GRE issue task" A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college."

Education is the foundation of a nation, and with the fast development of modern society, people propose that revolutions on education should be made. Some people suggest a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Admittedly, this recommendation to some extent makes sense. Firstly, it can reduce the harm of the unequal distribution of education resources, can put students on the same stage when competing. For instance, before, students who study in good schools will have a better chance of getting better-designed curriculums and therefore pick up knowledge faster. And this is entirely unfair for students who don’t have the opportunity or money to attend the same schools and to receive the same quality of education. After implementing this national curriculum, the differences of their education will be minimized. Secondly, students and their parents generally have limited knowledge about how to choose courses. And normally, they won’t care enough to do a thorough research before they make the decision. The same national curriculum policy will help these parents and children to make a proper decision effortless and ideally students will be better prepared for their college life. The other benefit of such a policy I can come up with is it could reduce the workload of teachers. Teachers who have to prepare for a variety of subjects now only need to follow the structure of the curriculum. It’s especially convenient if they want to swift to a different school. Imagine how much efforts they have to put into adjusting themselves to the new curriculum in a different schools. If the curriculum is the same everywhere, such a painstaking process will be precluded.

Even though the recommendation does benefit both students and teachers in several aspects, I still hold the idea that this method is too extreme and some how unrealistic. We all know different kids have different talents and interests, and also different learning ability. Therefore, designing a curriculum which could be applied on every students will be incredibly hard and the curriculum itself will be highly inefficient. Moreover, students who show sever passion toward certain subjects but fails to make their own choices may lose some studying interests and students who can’t catch up with others and cannot adjust their curriculum accordingly, may end up giving up studying. It seems to me that the harm will outweigh the advantages. On top of that, the policy will limit teachers’ creativity and imagination. Teachers who used to design their own curriculum basing on the real situation or feedback of their students now are forced to automatically accept the new national curriculum, which compared to their own, might be harder to work with. And whether the new curriculum is more suitable for students is also questionable. Last but not the least,making oneself’s own decision is a good start for a child to be a responsible human being and they can learn plenty of knowledge from this process which can be hardly learned from their school work.

In conclusion, I’m not in favour of this recommendation and think it will benefit students more if they can make their own choice of the curriculum. In addition, although we may not need a specific national indifferent curriculum, a clear and coherent standard or measurement of curriculum is still needed for the sake of shaping the education industry properly.