Importance of specific career path and pursuing single field of study

Choice of one's career path is not a trivial one. Being focused is imperative for an successfull career. The given prompt claims that multidisciplinary education is overrated and suggests that education must be focused on specific career paths. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the given claim and argue that a student must pursue specific career path and undertake only courses aligned with the goal, for these three reasons.

First, students must be afforded with the liberity to choose a career path according to their proclivity. Such choice would have an inherent attachement to the child, for good, further invariably motivating to work hard towards the goal. For instance, great entreprenuers such as Elon Musk and Bill Gates voluntarily chose to build a startup which we all know by the names of SpaceX and Microsoft Inc. respectively. If such career path would have be enforced by the system, it is higly likely that they would not have been self motivated to the extent to actually succeed. This example illustrates how a freedom to choose one's career augments the chances to succeed.

Furthermore, single area of study would enable oneself to focus on interests and pursue what makes them happy. It is imperative to realize one's latent potential and talent. For instance, a prodigy having extraordinary swimming skills should be able to pursue a career in swimming. He/she should not be mandated to pursue trivial paths such as engineering or medicine etc. It would help inculcate the skills and make him/her well adept. It is highly likely that such child might strive to follows the leads of Michael Pheps and bring glory to the nation, in near future. This illustrates how a specific career path help realize one's latent potential.

Finally, in this ever increasing globalized world, it is vital to be well adept to face stiff competition from all facades of life. One simply cannot belabor about a career path and end up being 'Jack of all trades, master of none'. For instance, we are all aware that there are potentially thousands of applications for one job opening. As the advents of Artificial intelligence and robotics is taking over the industry, the need of human resource is decreasing. To conter such threats, one must be highly skilled in his field, to negate the such advers consequence, if any. The ability to think, however, lies with human which cannot be supplanted by machine.

Of course, some might argue that we must strive to become a 'well rounded person' and must having overall skills. However, this is true upto certain extent, but cannot be attributed to highly important matters such as one's career path and college major. Such courses can be provided as electives, where one can voluntarily choose, if he/she wishes to. Being focused would help us negate the competition, relaize our potential and keep us self motivated to work hard and achieve the set goal. Therefore, we must encourage students to pursue specific career path and undertake single area of study in college.