Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In our ever increasing globalized world, mass media and the internet have played a paramount role as a catalyst, for the betterment of human mankind. The given prompt asserts that they, mass media and internet, has had an overall positive impact on people. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the prompt and argue that the advent of mass media and the internet has invigorated human capabilities for these reasons.

First of all, they have provided us access to tons of information which would not have been possible previously. It invariably enhances one's ability to discern a situation correctly, leading to well informed decisions. For instance, an e-commerce company analyzes tons of data regarding customers to discern buying patterns. It enables them to make smart business decisions like marketing and launching new products. This illustrates how the internet and mass media plays a vital role in decision making.

Furthermore, a lot depends upon an individual such as how he/she construes the mass media and the internet. We must take cognizance of the fact that each individual is different and that might lead to disparate and varied impact of the same thing. For instance, a kid learns about the political scenarios in his nation through mass media and the internet. This makes him aware of the society and helps in building a perception. It is vital to have opinions of own rather than espousing other's opinion. This example illustrates how we cannot generalize a phenomenon which is higly subjective.

Finally, the author points out that people's attention span get shorter due to mass media and the internet. It is true that we must not be overdependent on these tools that might hamper our focus. But, to assert that focus decreases is higly subjective and ambigious. For instance, a person might be able to multi-task and perhaps pay more attention to vital tasks, leaving trivial tasks to be handled by these mediums. Research has consistently demonstrated that when person focuses on important tasks rather that mundanew tasks, which are tractable, has more chance to succeed in the task. Scientist can focus more on his research rather than some trivial calculations, easily managed by calculator. Thus, mass media and the internet has enabled us to multi

Of course, some might argue that mass media and the internet has had a negative impact citing the recent rise in cyber crimes and widespread use of media for political propagandas. However, such impact is limited to only a small fraction of scenarios. We must look at it holistically and in most of the scenarios, the above stand might not hold water. Therefore, I can affirm that mass media and the internet has had an overall positive impact on people.