A unique curriculum for students

A nation obviously needs a curriculum for its students because without a curriculum education system will be like a ship that lacks a navigator. However, while I am concerned about the importance of a national curriculum, I disagree with the prompt regarding the point of an identical curriculum for all students up until college rather I would suggest that while similarities are needed, some flexibilities to change depending on the area, region, race, language is also required.

Admittedly, a common curriculum for all the students would be of help for the government and the officials related to the education ministry to implement. Moreover, it will be a tool to shape all the future citizens alike. Thus, at first glance, it seems to be an ideal pathway for the overall betterment of the country and its growth. But there are a number of problems regarding the adaptation of an identical system of education for all the students.

First of all, when a curriculum will be published, it is obvious that the members of the parliament will be needed to ratify the curriculum first and it is very likely that they are going to omit any article or principle that goes against their ideology, even the point is valid and important for the students, thereby limiting the foremost aim of education: enlightenment. Not only that, it will be of no surprise that the legislators will try to implement their own thoughts or belief regardless of their academic values to fulfil their own ambition of spreading certain ideologies. For example, a fascist politician will be likely to include elements of fascism in the curriculum, which will obviously show the wrong path to the students.

Secondly, imagine a diverse nation like the USA and India, where people are speaking a number of languages, have a wide variety of cultures, are from the various races and believe in different religions, It will be unwise to make a common curriculum for all the students from all the regions, races, languages, cultures. If they are taught all the same things, there is a possibility of curtailing many subjects that are exclusive to certain races, religions, cultures, and languages because of the simplicity of the curriculum. As a result, the future generation will be obscured about their own identity, which is certainly not the aim of education.

Finally, I want to assert that there is a necessity of creating a common curriculum that will teach the very common things of education, at the same time there is a need for flexibility to change or adapt the curriculum depending on region, race, and language, culture etc