It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Heroes are people who have a profound effect on society or have done something that changes the way of life of a particular society dramatically in a motion that develops those societies. In the prompt, the writer asserts that it is impossible to call someone who is still alive regardless of his/her gender a hero. However, I strongly disagree with the author and I believe that still there are many people around us who can be regarded as heroes.

Historically, we are taught that heroes are no longer among us since they sacrificed their lives for the betterment of our society and country. For example, a martyr, who had lost his life to defend his country, is definitely a hero, who passed away. But that does not mean that every hero is gone or, that to be a hero one must sacrifice his/her life. Again, some may think that the world is now in a position where we have no need for heroes, but, in fact, we always need heroes and most often heroes are ignored. However, both of the aforementioned cases are not entirely true.

First of all, no one needs to die to be a hero, there are so many people around us who are always doing heroic things. For example, the firefighters, in times of emergency or a massive inflammation these people are always there for our help. They do not hesitate to come whenever it is needed. Similarly, the Police force of a country can be regarded as heroes since they are the first line of defence for civil people. Therefore, there are a lot of men and women who are living with us and, at the same time, they are doing heroic jobs for the sake of us and our society.

An even more significant example could be our parents, whose painstaking responsibility of raising us is always ignored by us. Firstly, our mother had to bear the immense pain of giving birth. Without them we could not be in the air of earth. If they were afraid of being pregnant our societies would never advance to this stage. Similarly, in a patriarchal society, the father is responsible for maintaining the whole family. The man needs to bear all the costs of his wife, children, parents etc. Consider, a low-income country, and it is very difficult to manage all the costs there. However, despite the harsh situation and lack of adequate earnings, they do not leave their family. Moreover, they try their best and sometimes exceed their limit to hold the family together. Therefore it will be unjust to ignore them as heroes, the father and mother.

In conclusion, it can be said that heroes may die but the need for heroes is not finished and there are a great number of heroes among us. But the problem is that we do not recognize them usually, as they are very familiar to us.