“The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves”. Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim made above. Use relevant reasons and examples to support your point of view.

Compared to our ancestors, the pace of life has been increased to many folds. Yes, I agree with the fact that the increasingly rapid pace of life causes more problems than it solves.

In terms of social and emotional happiness, our forefathers were more fortunate. They were emotionally more secure as they lived in a joint family or as a whole. Whereas when we compare it to the present scenario, family members have no time for each other. Every individual is busy in coping up with the rapid pace of life. An example of this is that- many divorces have happened this year. There are a lot of other problems such as suicides, mental disorders, health problems and depression. There are no efforts made to take care of our health. Life has become meaningless for many, just running behind the rapid evolution and trying to cope up with it.

The present world is so rapid that if you cope up with one thing, you leave other things ignored. This has led to a lot of complicated problems. Though technology was not evolved in the past, people were a lot happier. Though, they were living in a slow evolving world, they had a balance between family and work.

Although there have been a lot of problems because of the rapid pace of life, they have solved few problems as well. Consider communication, people used telegrams to communicate with each other. Nowadays, Technology is booming! From E-mails to mobile phones, laptops, voice messaging, etc. has made life much easier. This also has reduced the communication gap between generations. Considering the routine work, booking of air tickets or train tickets has become much easier and this also saves time.

Beyond a doubt, man today leads a more comfortable and luxurious life, than his forefathers could have ever dreamt of. But are comforts and luxuries the sole components of happiness? In our materialistic pursuits, we have made life a mechanical routine.

Summing it up, though rapidly evolving world has solved a lot of problems, number of problems raised is more than that. We lack the spontaneity of joy and happiness, which comes from a happy and content mind, free from worries and tensions.