The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The life of a human today is vastly different from the life of a person some centuries ago. Back then, a person would grow up spending quality time with family. He/she would gradually discover the outside world through education and work. Today, however, technology has brought information about the whole world to even a four-year-old child, who is intelligent enough to understand it. Many variables have altered the way a society functions today, by making the pace of life more rapid. While, many benefits have been observed as a consequence, but more problems have been created of a mental, psychological, social and physical nature.

Growing progress in science and technology is one of the main factors behind rapid pace of life in today’s world. Technology has made communication from two different parts of the world possible, therefore enabling loved ones to stay in touch despite their busy lives. Contact with loved ones is extremely beneficial for a person’s emotional well-being. However, there are many more consequences that cannot be ignored. People now opt to converse over text messages or audio calls instead of meeting in person. This has decreased the amount of quality time one can spend with a loved one. Science has proven how physical touch as in hugs, is beneficial to foster relationships with loved ones. People are deprived of such practices today because of their preference to communicate from a distance due to their rapid pace of life, which does not allow them to do otherwise. Consequently, more issues in emotional well-being are observed today than ever. People are marrying holograms to fulfill that emotional void, and even using robots for fulfilling their conjugal needs. Since humans are not designed to function this way, all such alternatives are unhealthy. Busy lives have also urged people to take advantage of online dating to find the one. However, this is generally meaningless since forming a connection through text messages is highly unlikely. Hence, it usually does not bear fruit and results in frustration.

In addition, the rapid pace of life today has created the pressure of race towards success. Gone are the days when people would consider the idea of spending quality time with family, enjoying the simple joys of life and admiring the nature as honorable. Today, such practices are deemed foolish. A social compulsion is established due to increased resources and opportunities today, to climb the ladder of success while leaving everyone behind. This has deprived many people of the chance to pursue fields of their choice if their job market is not very promising. Hence, such people have to give up their dreams of maybe poetry, arts, teaching or even dancing. Hence, the pressure of race towards success due to the rapid pace of life today can surely inhibit intellectual stimulation in the society in many cases.

Furthermore, the rapid pace of life today has made people more return oriented. Parents emphasize the significance of good qualifications, job and achievements to their children to fit in the world. There is no time left for parents to impart education about noble virtues such as respect, loyalty and faithfulness. Hence, the upbringing of the children suffers.

While the rapid pace of life has resulted in many benefits to the common man today, it has created even more problems. From depriving loved ones to spending time with each other which is affecting people’s mental health to establishing a social pressure to fit in the world, people are not actually living, rather they are simply functioning as robots.