The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Life as we know it, is continuously evolving. A typical day in today's power hungry, money-chasing world can be imagined in an urban backdrop where we can see people headed off in a direction to their work, carrying a suitcase. There is definitely an increasingly rapid pace in today's world. I agree with the notion in the question that the increasingly rapid pace of today's life causes more problems than it solves, for the following reasons. The first is related to hunger and poverty, and the next one is related to mental health issues.

Although we have seen a meteoric rise in technology, with every company rolling out its own AI every other week, we are still faced with a doubt as to how much of the world's problems is actually solved. World hunger and poverty has not yet been eliminated. There are several innovations made, and we laud those who created those. They are praised as to how their innovations could 'potentially' solve the world's problems. But how much of it is actually implemented? And how effective has the solution been in solving the problem it set out to resolve? In 2016, a grad student was praised for his innovation in agricultural technology, wherein his product could potentially help to produce more food than before. But that was last heard of in the news. Thus we can see that even such innovative ideas have not brought about any concrete results.

With the rapidly increasing pace of the world, everyone is in a rat race. The only concern in any family is to earn money. As a result, this puts on a lot of pressure on the next generation of children. From a very young age, they are taught to compete with their peers, study well so that they get admissions in good schools/ colleges, get placed in a company earning six figures. While all this is taught to the children so they can survive tomorrow, it also causes a lot of stress. The number of cases in mental health is increasing, with young school and college going students unable to focus and unable to relax. With all of this going on, people have forgotten the art of living- doing things with a purpose, not as a perfunctory task, concentrating on living life calmly. According to the New York Times, fifty three percent of office goers report that they grind for hours together without taking breaks in their work. All this will affect them later in their lives. We can see how living in such a high paced world has caused so much stress.

Though people now are more aware of the problems and overcoming stigmas realted to mental health, such as first of all accepting that it is a real problem, there is still a lot that needs to be done. We need to identify the areas which require immediate solutions - such as hunger, poverty, discrimination, etc and effectively implement solutions. Above all, we should not lose sight of the bigger picture- that none of the extreme hard work matters when the world comes to a standstill, as it did during the pandemic. Hence we can bolster the argument that the fast paced world has only led to the creation of more problems rather than solutions.