The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As someone has rightly said, “ Science never solves a problem without creating more.”, it is evident in our daily lives that science has created many problem which were not existing few years ago. The rapid pace of life today due to the advancements in technology, causes more problems than it solves. And thus, we are affected today in ways which we still may not know.

Mobile phones brought with them the magic of long distance communication and accessibility to talk to all people just at a press of a button. Though mobiles solved the age old problem of long distance communication, it brought with itself the problem of exposure to harmful radiation emitted by the device. Automobiles shortened the world by helping us travel huge distances in span of minutes but also came with it the problems like road accidents, traffic management and air pollution. Now, humans are striving hard to fight these problems which have wreaked a havoc on human civilization. Similarly, advent of robots bought with it the problem of unemployment, rapid prototyping technology brought with it the problem of e-waste and the list goes on. Hence, it is clear that fast pace of life today has caused more problems than it has solved.

Science is culture of doubts. Therefore, scientists dive into the pool of problems and go on creating a web of problems as they solve one. Some people may argue that fast pace of life today has helped us to come up with drugs which fight back diseases and make us more healthy. But, they forget to acknowledge that in process to treat diseases we have in turn created a new strain of drug resistant bacteria which is almost impregnable.

Apart from scientific advances and technology, fast pace of life has affected humans in many different ways. First, men had to read books and recall the knowledge that they read. But now, humans face with a problem of “Google Effect”, where humans rely heavily on Google and seldom use the process of revision and recalling to use their knowledge. As a result, humans are getting weak at retaining knowledge and thus leading towards their destruction.

Hence, in conclusion, there is plenty of evidence to show that fast pace of technology has created more problems than it has solved. And this is true in all fields and walks of life.