"The intellectual benefits of attending a university or college are vastly overrated: most people could learn more by studying and reading on their own for four years than by pursuing a university or college degree."

There has always been a saying that institutional education may not make a person great rather his own interest of learning can make him stand above all. Institutions like college and university were introduced to have a disciplined way of learning as well as these create another important platform for socialisation.This prompt suggests that an individual can easily gain a lot more knowledge by studying on his own rather than attending any educational instituions.I strongly disagree with this statement and I think that institional education can bring more benefits than self study for two reasons.

To begin, from the establishment of civilisation, the society was designed in a structed way so that people residing in that society can improve their moral and intellectual properties by the gaining knowledge. That’s why educational institutions came into existance. One can easily learn something on their own nowadays with the means of digital platforms such as youtube. Online education has been popular in a while. But still the necessity of going to the college or universities hasnot decreased. This is because in these institutions one gathers knowledge outside their major. Socialising with the mates, learning from the teachers, participating in competitions etc are also essential aspects of education. The only aim of the college or university is not making a graduate, rather it focuses on building a young mind who will soon enter his crucial phase of life after passing out from there. Self study may be effective in gaining knowledge of the books but the social skills can not be achievened with that.

Futher, even if someone manages to know lot better than the institutions teach, how can he expects that only studying at home can make him skilled? Is it possible to be a doctor just by reading books and studying at home? It requires practical knowledge, skilled supervision, mentoring and what not. Likewise, one cannot expect to be an engineer all by himself. It requires well equipped laboratories, hand on experience, guidance to be an engineer. From these perspectives,it is easier to realise the importance of college or university in builidng a professional. Otherwise, it would be something like learning how to ride a bicycle by reading a book.

Of course, some may argue that history depicts great personalities who didn’t attend college but managed to create revolution by their own. It is undeniable that they were gifted but also they had less access to these amenitie which doesnot mean that they are useless. Those who have access to quality education is considered to be a blessing because of its importance. People who disregard this significance may have failed to take account the major aspects.