Society does not place enough emphasis on the intellect—that is, on reasoning and other cognitive skills.

Intellectual ability like critical reasoning and cognitive skills are important in a human being. It creates a sense of right and wrong as well as develops an individual completely. The prompt states that our society doesn;t promote such intellectual abilities in a person by not putting enough emphasis on this issue. I strongly agree with this statement and believe that society’s role in promoting human intellect is not enough for two reasons.

To begin, from the early childhood, our society teaches a child that studying is the key to achieve respect and money which will make him stand out in the society he belongs. Doing that, it just creates an impression in the child that only good results will make a person great and the consequence of this action is the child doesn;t want to think deeply about the things he is learning. The conventional schooling system just teaches a student to get good grades. Moral and intellectual abilities are considered as less important terms. For example, if a student spends a considerable amount of time in understanding the inner meaning of a poetry, he may not get enough time to memorize it in the first place which might not help him getting good grades. As grades are considered most important, he might be admonished for being a bad student. But what he did is just better than getting decent grades and that is not being admired by the society. This kind of phenomena creates a bad impact on an individual and no one is complaining about it. Thus society’s role is questionable in building a human morally.

Further, if we see the people our society actually celebrates are the people who accomplish a lot, not the people who try to work for the betterment. That is the reason why the intellectuals are less valued in today’s era and money makers are the influencers. We are forgetting that morally deprived persons are the ones who are not useful to the society. On the other hand, as concerned about the role of society in building reasoning and cognitive skills, it is apparent from the evaluation system that the focus was never in judging someone according to their intellectual ability, For instance, the recruitment exams don’t focus on judging a person rather than it is more inclined to examining a person how much theoretical knowledge he possess. In the society where this kind of evaluation system exists, we can’t expect any good from there. Hence, it is evident that emphasis isn’t given in a proper manner in intellectual skill development.

One might say that, it is not always the role of the society to build a person in a complete manner if the person doesn’t try from his own. It is possible in a way but where the society constantly puts pressure on someone, we can’t expect him to grow on his own. The society needs to create a healthy environment for that. So, I believe that the role of the society in building intellect within an individual isn’t positive.