An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Vitamins is one of the classes of food. Lack of vitamins will lead to malnourishment. It is universally believed that food is one of the basic needs of life; others are clothing and shelter. I will agree with the decision of the government of Tagus to subsidized the costs that will be incurred by farmers in order to plant the new variety pf vitamins based on the following reasons:

Firstly, It will increase the standard of living of the people. Consumption of good foods will enhance people to be healthy and work more and this will stimulate increase in productivity. For example; one of the goals of sustainable development goals is to end hunger. Food security is one of the objective of United Nations.