An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The development organization believes that the new variety of millet with high content of vitamin A is the solution to the challenge faced by the impoverished population of Tagus. However, the argument does not present a cogent case to promote the new breed of millets as the organization has based its recommendation on many unwarranted assumptions.

The premise that the deficient citizens of the nation would readily accept the engineered millet into their diet is not substantiated by any data or survey. The organization needs to factor in the receptibility of new variety of the crop by the population by conducting surveys and spreading awareness of its benefits. It is human psychology to be apprehensive about such new development. Therefore, any reservations in the minds of the hesitant individuals should be addressed by the team involved with the project.

The organization should also mention whether there are any initial temporary or permanent side effects of including this new variety of millets in one's diet. The concerns of sceptics should be answered backed with some credible results in order to eliminate any resistance against the improved millets.

The organization is of the opinion that the farmers may be unwilling to grow the new variety on account of high costs for seeds but other factors shall also be given due consideration. The demand for the crop and other special requirements, if any, while sowing should also be addressed. It might be possible that despite the government's efforts of promotion the farmers may be opposed to cultivate the genetically engineered crop due to uncertainty of market demand and the probability of earning profits on its sale.

Further, the organization should support the claim that the new variety of millets would cure or abate the symptoms of vitamin A deficiency to a significant extent by some data analysed by it. In the event of lack of such evidence, a section of the population is likely to remain apprehensive is accepting the new variety and the purpose of the entire activity may turn out to be futile.

Therefore, the recommendation provided by the international firm is rife with holes and should be justified with reliable sources and data.