An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author avers that millet rich in vitamin A engineered by an international organization will be readily adopted by the people of Tagus. The Author substantiates the claim by saying that the farmers will be paid subsidy to lower the price of the new high costing millets and as millets are the staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt it. Also he states that government should also support this to curb the vitamin A deficency. However, the author supports the conclusion with 3 unstated assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramtatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, will these millets cost the same to the end user? The author states that farmers would get subsidy to grow these millets. But there is a chance that even after subsidy these millets are still more expensive to grow and sell in the local market. The end user might not buy these millets due to their high cost and farmers might also not grow these in their farms. There is a chance that these millets require higher soil quality and higher water need, therby increasing the cost to grow them as well, making it more expensive to the daily users. These millets might take longer time to grow making the return on investment lower for the farmers.

Second of all, are these millets similar in taste to the old staple millets that the people are alredy consuming? These millets might not be tasting good and it could be difficult for these millets to carve out a niche for themselves. Population of tagus might mix these millets with other food items and maybe the new millets might taste differnt than the old millets in with older combinations. There is a chance that people might hate them because of their taste and isolation. The quality of the millets might not be upto the mark that is acceptable to the population if Tagus. Other nutrients might be absent in them making them harmful for the people at large as it is their staple diet.

Thirdly, what if people are not able to differntiate them from the old millets? These millets might look similar to the old millets and the population is not able to differentiate them from the old millets. Maybe, people are not aware of the vitamin A deficeincy and they don't care about it. Moreover people are not able to differntiate them in looks. This would seriously harm the sale of the millets as the end user is not likely to buy these as they don't see any positive factor that these new millets might have over the old one.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is coniderably flawed due to it's reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above three questions and is able to provide more evidence (perhaps in the form of a more systematic study), then only it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of success of the proposed new millets in the impoverished natition of Tagus.