It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

All human has some beliefs that structure their life and drive them towards their goal. People generally build up these beliefs by their own understanding, environment, and experience. But the existence of these diversified beliefs drive humankind towards the modern civilization that we live today. These diversified beliefs helped us to edify our moral and social views towards the whole time. But there has been a long going debate about whether it is justified that a person should always adhere to his own belief or he can compromise his own belief if there is a better one. I mostly disagree that compromising one's own belief is harmful than to adhering to it on basis of two reasons stated below.

Firstly, when a person becomes so dogmatic that he is never ready to accept that there may be some flaws in his belief, it will not be ethical at all. For example, during the time of Gallelio, the church never ready to accept that the sun is in the center of our solar system and they continued to punish those scholars who refute it. Eventually, they were totally wrong. But their dogmatic mindset had caused several violent deaths of the scholars like Gallelio, Hypeshia and Keplar. So, if you always keep the mindset that, compromising our belief will be harmful than it will cause us in long run.

Secondly, if a person is always dogmatic about his own beliefs and never try to consider the other viewpoint than it will eventually cause conflict in the society. One thing is evident in throughout the history is that change is only constant in the history. THe way of thinking in ancient way will be completely different than today. This also appiled to all caste, race and so on. So, if we always keep in our mind that we should never compromis our belief than it will eventually cause conflicts in society. For example, the Nazi regime of Hitler.

Though, sometimes we just want to compromise our belief in order to establish peace with the opposing party, these can also be harmful to the society. There could be possibiluty that opposite viewpoint is completely wrong and agreeing to that we just playing safe. So, during the evaluation of whether we should compromise or not, both sides should be more progressive and show good judgement to check the validity of opposition belief. So, I mostly disagree with the prompt.