It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The question of how to define ourselves can be discussed in many aspects. However, we cannot successfully find out who we are through our identification with social groups.

People do really define their personality by their identification with groups. There a so many different groups in our society. We can be so many groups at the same time. A person can be in a group of championing democracy while he is a member of environmental protection association. By finding groups we belong, we can know what kind of people we really are.

However, we cannot successfully define ourselves by searching social groups that we agree with. First of all, we tend to agree with the group that members in it do what we want to do mentally but never take the first step in reality or have a noble spirit that we do not have. As a result, when we agree with certain people, it does not mean we are the same with them. On the contrary, it actually points out that we are just totally opposite people who stand in the antithetical place to them. For example, we adore the group of protecting environment and appreciate what they have done. But do we really join them to canvass the parliament? All we do is just support them to do things we think that is right, which fails to define who we are.

Secondly, it is actually by disavowing certain groups that we can truly fine who we are. If we disparage what the group that we do not like has done, it means that deep down inside our principle of being a human just not the same with them; thus, through this way, we can know ourselves by recognizing who we are not and who we do not want to be. Examples abound in our society. A group of people who are abstemious will abhor what those dissolute people who do not cherish every resource of the earth do.

In sum, I fundamentally disagree with the argument of what the author said. People are able to draw a clear picture of their personality by groups which they do not respect, instead of seeking groups they agree with.