There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts—especially at a great cost in money and jobs—to save endangered animal or plant species.

(Wrire a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain the reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these reasons shape your position.)

Whether we should not save endangered animal or plant species could be discussed in many facets. However, saving these species, even though it requires a lot of money and jobs, can benefit to human beings.

First of all, the extinction of one particular species can lead to a food shortage for us. Inside an ecosystem, there are many food chains and the interactions between creatures are complicated. Not only is an extinction of a species no longer a part of the ecosystem, but also a predator that loses one of its preys will die. As a result, the chain reaction will destroy the whole ecosystem and people who rely on it will suffer the deficiency of food eventually.

Secondly, these species might be the key for humans to live longer and healthier. Nowadays, there are still some illnesses, such as AIDS, some chronic diseases and cancers, that cannot be cured effectively. And as a technology progresses, scientists will be able to discover a particular ingredient from a specific species and use it create a new treatment to against those illnesses. Smallpox used to be the disease which could never be treated in mid century, whereas it can hardly threaten our life in this generation. Thus, we must do everything we can to protect these endangered creatures from extinction.

Admittedly, spending thousands and thousands money on saving animals or plants will freak people out. However, if we just walk away and do nothing to it, we might not be able to cure those illness and those patients will have nothing but suffer once they are sick. Not to mention a great number of people will be wiped out because of the food shortage generated by ecosystem crushing down. Hence, thinking of saving these creatures as saving ourselves, is the money much more valuable than human lives?

In sum, it is reasonable for society to make extraordinary efforts to save endangered species. Otherwise, many people will suffer from a food shortage and illnesses that will eventually cause the extinction of humanity.