It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should

consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations

shape your position.

Social groups are an inevitable part of our lives, since it is the only way that we can validate our existence in a particular society. It is important to maintain a good impression in front of our peers, and in our other social interactions, which gives us a prominent status in the society. But, it would be inappropriate to think of it as the primary way to define one's life.

All of us want to be recognized for our good work in the society, and thus we tend to keep our public image as clean as possible. However, it can be argued that socially identified and accepted definition of someone is not entirely true. It is not recommended for society to define any person. Each person is an individual and has his/her own traits that hardly anyone is aware of. In India, there's a popular phrase: "Elephant uses different teeth to chew, and has different teeth to show." In this analogy, we understand that the social identification that one portrays in front of the society is not a reliable definition of the person itself.

On the other hand, we should acknowledge that our social identification is a major part of writing our own definition. For example, John who is extremely good in his academics, will be known as one of the best minds of the society, which is undoubtedly true. Thus, his social identification as a "Smart person" won't be wrong. He will be identified as smart because he possesses that trait.

On the contrary, it would be inappropriate to ignore the fact that the John can be good at singing, or he might be bad at sports. So 'smart person' is not the only thing which would make a proper definition of John. His other hobbies such as singing, or any other things which are unknown to society should add up to the definition of "John".

In addition to this, 'introvert' is a popular term to define shy people. These people do not tend to open up to other people quickly. Their social identification is always conveyed as "Shy, less talkative, tantamount etc." But it should not be necessarily considered as true. Shyness is a characteristic of not opening up in front of a group of people. A shy person maybe extremely friendly and open in front of his family, and close friends; and we would never know because his social appearance would

always remain as shy. A person who is shy in front of everyone, can be very annoying in person, which is a false representation of his social identification.

Finally, it can be seen that it is not necessary that our social identification must be the primary factor of definition of our lives. Yes, it can be considered as a factor, but it would be exaggeration that it plays major role in definition. This criteria varies from person to person and is can never be confined in some set of rules or policies in order to get to know someone.