It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Who am I? It is one of the famous philosophy three questions. It is hard to deny that people’s life is largely a process of finding the definition of themselves. As human civilization develops, thing are getting more and more complicated, and sometimes people gets lost and do not know who they actually are. To tackle such problem, some argue that people can define themselves mostly through their identification with social groups. I mostly agree with the idea in the following three aspects.

To begin, one’s identification with certain social group is a sign that he or she might share the same character. Social group can better illustrate the very characters the group shares, and amplify them. Recently there are a trending personality test called the MBTI, where people are categorized into 16 personalities, which are different in many aspects such as ways of thinking, inward or outward etc. The test also reflects the advantages and shortcomings of the 16 groups of people. Such classification is quite effective that companies actually do the test on candidates to better know whether they fit certain job. With the classification of the test, people actually acquire a sense of social identification, and they tend to find out their hidden characters, so that they can better define themselves.

Next, social groups are good at helping out lost people. Failure is never a rare thing to everyone, and people might encounter it, large or small, several times in the life span. But sometimes, the failure is just too serious to recover from. For example, a surgeon might not hold the burden the first time he cannot save one’s life in the surgery room. He might get his mind lost, become depressed and even quit his career as a great life saver. Always, his colleagues, other experienced surgeons who have already experience such, would be the best remedy to get him right. Those help is based on the surgeon’s identification of the social group, which in this case is the job title, surgeon.

However, besides seek for one’s definition from the social group, one should always take a look inside. Every person is unique and every person are more than the one that social group defines us. It should be accepted that sense of difference are found in the social group besides the sense of identification. And in this case, a self reflection is needed. The process of defining oneself is a dynamic process of revision. Sometimes one may disagree with the previous definition and sometimes one tend to compromise. And this process is something that social identification cannot provide.

To sum up, finding the definition of ourselves is the life-long mission, where identification of social group is a crucial part. But besides the social identification, the look outside, we should never forget a inside look, to clear the conflicts and make a better revision of self definition. Most importantly, the two directions are equally important.