It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Often, people use the name of the social group to which they belong to introduce themselves; for example, many professors introduce themselves as a “professor” before adding specific details about themselves. In this regard, it is often argued that the identity of people is primarily determined though the identification with social groups. Although there are indeed some cases where social groups play a crucial role in formulating peoples' identity, there are other more important factors that are consequential to define individuals.

To begin with, espeically in the academia, social groups play a pivotal role in defining an individual's identity. This is because researchers who belong to and constitute the academia should follow the set of information that the academica canonizes. To illustrate, it is worth noting that the identity of a researcher is mostly determined by his set of publications, whose acceptance in a journal and the concomitant visibility is primarily determined by the academia. A researcher defying one's social group and instead prating one's groundless belief will be ostracized by one's colleagues, and thereby would not be able to do any meaningful acadmic activities. Therefore, in order to become a "real" researcher, an individual must follow the set of the rules and canonical axioms of the academia. Therefore, people are sometimes defined by social groups.

Regardless of the previous case, however, social groups do not always define people's identity. This is because social groups also require their axioms to be subverted in order for them to evolve. In this regard, people's commitment to their belief and eagerness to change the social groups they belong to are also important. This is, for example, well manifested in the case of dealing with a so-called paradigm shift. Albert Einstein did not allow his social group-the physics academia to define him. Rather, he tried to persuade the entire academia to follow his belief on the theory of relativity. Although he faced some impediments at first, he put extra miles to elaborate his theory and persuade his colleagues with it. He managed to change the perspective of the physics acadmia, and this helped the entire academia to unravel the previously inexplicable phenomena. As this example reveals, social groups do not always define people's identity.

In brief, I adamantly believe that there are other factors, such as peoples' commitment to their beliefs, that are more important to define the individual's identity. Therefore, rather than myopically seeking to be in part of a predefined social group, people should hold on to their beliefs.