It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author assert that definition of one individual is based one how others viewing him. I agree with this opine that no matter celebrity or pedestrains are all applied to such claim.

What makes a celebrity is becuase everyone view him as a star under lamelight instead of judging by himself. The reason why Taylor Swift is known as one of the most singer is that her songs are attractive to music lovers all around world. That is to say, that the followers, the social groups defined her as the top singer. Similarly, in all other domian, no matter science, art or sports, one celebrity is called celebrity is becuase his endevaor is widely aknowledged by the rest of the world, instead if by his own statement that he is the greatest in his industry.

It follows the similar logics for the rest normal people that how people around them seeing him defined who he is. For instance, if one is a good students is by how his peers, his teachers see him. It would only be futile for him to claim that he is a good students while his teachers comment him as rambunctious. Similarly, if one fits well for certain position at work are mostly determined by his books. Therefore, one's identification in the worlds is valid only if the social group around him recognize it.

However, saying that our identification is judged by the others is not necessary saying that we should try everything we could to pleased the rest so that we could be recognized. For example, despite Van Gogh follows his own style in painting instead of meeting the preference of the people at his time. Still, he was now recognized as one of the most influentious artist in history. Therefore we should not be blindly fettered by how the rest of world would consider us.

In conclusion, who we are is primarily defined by the rest around us, but it would be overdue if all one's behavior is fully shackled in order to please the rest.