It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that the way to define ourselves is through our identification with social groups. It is true that social groups is so different that people cannot identify it easily. However, as a human being, people must find out who they are. Therefore, Identification with social groups is the only way that we can realize who we are. I strongly agree with the speaker.

To begin with, since human being lives in social context, social identification, which can help us recognize ourselves, is necessary. As a social animals, human is relating to his or her social relationships, such as colleague, classmate, and family. And this means that human have different roles in the social context. In order to find their direction of life, human must find out what kinds of roles they play in the society. For example, students must find out what they need, and develop themselves through education. After graduated, students can engage in what they like or what they want to do, such as being a lawyer, an engineer, or a doctor. Without social identification, human cannot realize who they are.

Further, human will benefit from identifying characteristics of social groups, through which they can understand themselves better. For example, when attending the schools, students search for a club. With clubs, schools can combine same kinds of students, whereas students can find out their merits in the clubs. In the clubs, students could be a director, a member belonging to event planning, or a member belonging to public relations department. Through identifying their roles in the club, students can know what kind of roles they like because it can be analogy to vocation. In sum, human can benefit from identifying their social groups.

On the other hand, the things that people could not identify social groups has a negative effect on themselves. If people is incapable of knowing what is their roles in the society, they will lose their way, even become unfamiliar with themselves. For instance, Lobo Wolf Girl, a girl was seen running on all fours alongside a pack of wolves going after a herd of goats. Due to lacking ability to identify herself in the social context, she was unable to exhibit a human’s characteristics. In brief, because people live in society, they must find out their identification in the society.

To sum up, human realize themselves through identification with social groups. And human can benefit from social groups. Whereas if people cannot recognize their identification in society, they will lose the direction of life. So, I totally agree what the speaker says.