Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Taking a correct decision at the time is crucial and can have many possibilities of outcome. The statement is suggesting that decisions taken in past cannot affect our present and they have no importance to current ideas. The statement seems ambivalent. We cannot decide whether to support it or oppose it. There are some instances in which past decisions affect the current situation and we have to consider it as a moral. Also, there are some situations in which past decisions do not affect the current one. So, it depends on the situation and we cannot infer that past decisions are not important to today's important issues.

In earlier days, many wars had taken place which had proven deleterious in many places. The decision was taken at that time that conducted war proved moral to the new generation and any authority will not apply the same strategies to protect the nation from the war. So, to not repeat the same mistake, knowing the past is important to not repeat the same. But if a nation is suffering from any crucial problem which they had never faced earlier, to combat the issue, they have to apply new strategies to save the nation from decaying. In that case, no earlier decisions will be available and though knowing about earlier data they have to rely on a new one.

It is a ubiquitous belief that people learn from past mistakes. If a scientist is doing an experiment continuously and having abortive outcome each time, it is important for him to identify wrong decisions he had taken in the past and act accordingly to reach to the desired output. In this case. he has to rely on past decisions to get the success. But, if he is inventing a new technology which cannot relate to any other outcome, and he has to take new decisions to start his experiments.

In sum, it is an ambivalent thought not to reply on past mistakes or past important decisions and we should consider each and every aspect to take right decisions.