A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches.

The paragraph revolves around predictions and assumptions about the headache issue in residents of Mentia. The predictions are based on sufficiently long time period i.e twenty years, which might be sufficient in terms of accuracy. Still, concise reading creates some questions. The statement seems partially convincing and the author should mention more details to affirm the conclusion.

As per the aspect of the author, salicylates are the components which soothe a headache and with high consumptions of the same, the ratio of people having a headache will decrease in Mentia. To support his/her assumption, he/she mentioned several examples like the presence of Salicylates in naturally available food, in food preservatives and food flavors which placated a headache. With mentioned examples, it seems convincing and we can accept the conclusion that people of mentia will suffer less due to a headache.

The first question arises here is that the number of people examined during the study and their biological details. It is possible here that the number of people examined is 10 from the total population of 1,00,000. Also, the biological presence of salicylates and their food habits affects the conclusion. If examined people have sufficient rate of salicylates, then it is obvious that they will suffer less from a headache. Also, if selected people have less intensity of a headache compared to overall population, the conclusion will be proven wrong.

Another reason why the prediction seems skeptical is the side effects of salicylates and consumption ratio. Salicylates are good for ameliorating headache, but, people might suffer from other problems. Thus, the author should mention here other problems that people face after consuming salicylates. Salicylates have existed in natural resources and food processing companies also use it as food preservatives. Further, the author is suggesting to use it in food flavors to reduce a ratio of a headache. But, how much salicylates is required to maintain good health and reduce headache problem is also not mentioned here. People might face more problem due to high consumption of salicylates or it may not affect due to high consumption.

Thus, examining carefully, the conclusion seems skeptical and it should not be predicted that residents of Mentia will suffer fewer headache in the future.