Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.W

Research is a base factor for any innovative technology. To discover something new and contribute to the society; it will take many more efforts and practice. It is not related to a particular field definitely. Researchers have to go through many kinds of stuff and contents to achieve the desired result. Also, it is not certain if they will get success in the first attempt. It will take many more attempts to reach desired output which might be far different from the designed and desired one. I agree with the author's statement.

If we take an example of Internet of Things field. It is a wide range of applications in different fields. The root of those applications definitely should not be restricted up to only IoT field. If we take an example of wearable devices such as fitness bands, It includes fields like programming field, biomedical field, electronics field, automation field and many more. Researchers are trying to elevate that standard to make it more accurate. To make it more accurate, researchers will have to look at all fields. If they are restricted to only electronics field to minimize losses and neglect to program it in a more advanced way, that will not improve overall output.

Also if we take another example of research in Green Building Technology, It is a field which includes a wide range of fields. There are possibilities that their assumptions prove wrong. Suppose, they have considered a quality of soil to be perfect for a building but other materials used make it adulterated, they might have solutions to solve the problem. Which will lead them to discover a new field of study to make their project a success.

In conclusion, researchers should not restrict them up to their specialized fields and consider each field which affects their desired output as a great opportunity to learn and contribute. That will enhance their results and society will get better innovations.